The Union of Unextraordinary Miners
If I pick a number for X with my "Starting Resources" rule and my opponent does not have enough staple resources in his deck to match my starting resource number, is it too bad so sad for him, or am I restricted to picking a number for X that will result in all players having the same number of starting resources?
Pretty sure from the wording it just means that two-threshold resourceless decks would be screwed, but it'd be nice to have confirmation in advance for the inevitable dispute.
Bah. Epic cards break rules!
I would say because of the last line "..so that each player has the same number of starting resources." You would be restricted to their max resources.
Out of fairness, I would understand that, but the last line is referring to the other player adding resources. Your resources were put in play earlier in the text I think, so I would guess the other player has to follow the last line to the best of his ability. And it wouldn't seem right to have a restriction on X since you don't get to look through your opponent's deck to see how many resources they have (and thus determine a legal number for X).
It wouldn't be an Epic card if it didn't have some wacky interaction. Hoping to get some kind of official word on this to avoid potential arguments. I want to use it for a casual rainbow deck, but if an opponent has only two starting resources and no other resources, that would completely ruin such a deck.
Don´t have the card here, what´s the whole text?
I don't think they typically make official rulings on Epic cards. They are designed for casual play, so pretty much leave it up to players to decide how it works and keeps it fun.