View Full Version : Develop Rule (Play Resource)
12-11-2006, 10:00 PM
Is playing a resource card as part of your develop option considered "playing a card" for the purposes of allowing your opponent to responsd? Key phrases:
"Develop Rule: At the start of your turn, pick one of the following: draw a card or play a resource" (emphasis added).
Rules Text: "You are allowed to respond when your opponent plays a card" (emphasis added).
12-11-2006, 10:25 PM
After a good bit of thought, I'd have to say no on this one.
The rules very specifically explain how to play a card (See Athena: http://metatime.net/athena/rules.php?page=How%20to%20Play%20a%20Card). In step 1, we see that the card being played must be a character, tactic, item, or location. Resources are none of these, and thus are not being played for purposes of responding.
To explain further, playing a card is when a card moves from the 'being played' zone to the 'in play' zone. Card that are put into play by other cards are never in the 'being played' zone, instead they are put directly into play as the result of an action. For that reason, you cannot respond to resources being played with the develop rule, and a micromajig token being put into play does not count as 'playing a character card'.
12-11-2006, 11:19 PM
What about drawing a card or any other step in your develop phase?
Drawing a card is an action right? You get to respond to the action, at least thats what I got from one of the other posts.
The Question comes from Players wanting to play a card before I untap or draw during my develop phase. This responding action really ticks me off.
Since the players who turn it is should get the first action, would he/she should get to Untap, draw or both before anyone else can play a card on your turn?
I know resources dont tap... I dont play Magik But this is how I see the action.
12-12-2006, 03:11 AM
The Develop Rule is a rule, not an ability. You cannot respond to the Develop Rule
To clarify, the Develop and Restore rule are simply areas on a faction's text that contain rules text dealing with both developing and restoring of a player's resources.
On The Tournament Faction, both the Develop and Restore rule are triggers. So, they are handled like any other trigger would be. This means you cannot respond to them.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.6 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.